January 30, 2014 / News & Notes

Students at Walsworth schools win 13 Sweepstakes prizes in 2013 Yearbook Excellence Contest

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Overland Park, Kan. (Jan. 30, 2014) – Students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools won 13 of the 36 Sweepstakes prizes in the 2013 Yearbook Excellence Contest, sponsored by Quill and Scroll.

The yearbook staff from Arrowhead Christian Academy in Redlands, Calif., won five Sweepstakes awards in the Class B category.  The winners included Anna Koning for Student Life, Michael Veloz for Academic Photo, Heather Ishida for Personality Profiles, and Hayley Park for Headline Writing and Design and for Caption Writing.

Also winning in class B were two students from Windermere Prep School in Windermere, Fla. — Chris Pichardo for Student Life and Brad Coles for Graphic Design.

In class A, two students in each of three Walsworth schools earned Sweepstakes honors. Winners from Blue Valley Northwest High School in Overland Park, Kan., were Jennifer Faucett for Clubs and Organizations and Katie Knutson for Student Life Photo. The winners from El Dorado High School in El Paso, Texas, were Elizabeth Johnson for Clubs/Organizations Photo and Audrey Guillen for Caption Writing. And from Shawnee Mission Northwest High School in Shawnee, Kan., the winners were Nate Compton for Photo Illustration and Monica Castellon for Sports Action Photo.

Each year, staff members of yearbooks are invited to participate in the Yearbook Excellence Contest and compete in 18 categories. Winners receive the Quill and Scroll National Gold Key award and, when seniors, become eligible to apply for one of the Edward J. Nell Memorial or George and Ophelia Gallup scholarships.

In addition to the Sweepstakes winners, 12 schools whose 2013 yearbooks were printed by Walsworth had National Gold Key winners in this year’s contest, including:

  • Arrowhead Christian Academy – Redlands, Calif.
  • Athens Drive High School – Raleigh, N.C.
  • Blue Valley Northwest High School – Overland Park, Kan.
  • Boone High School – Orlando, Fla.
  • Calallen High School – Corpus Christi, Texas
  • El Dorado High School – El Paso, Texas
  • Guerin Catholic High School – Noblesville, Ind.
  • Hagerty High School – Oviedo, Fla.
  • Manchester Junior-Senior High School – North Manchester, Ind.
  • Oak Ridge High School – Orlando, Fla.
  • Shawnee Mission Northwest High School – Shawnee, Kan.
  • Windermere Prep School – Windermere, Fla.

An additional school who is a new Walsworth customer in 2014 also had National Gold Key winners – Martin High School in Arlington, Texas.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.