February 5, 2013 / News & Notes

Students at Walsworth schools win 12 Sweepstakes prizes in 2012 Yearbook Excellence Contest

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Feb. 5, 2013) – Students from Walsworth yearbook schools won 12 of the 36 Sweepstakes prizes in the 2012 Yearbook Excellence Contest, co-sponsored by Quill and Scroll and Walsworth.

The yearbook staff from Arrowhead Christian Academy in Redlands, Calif., won eight Sweepstakes awards in the Class B category.  The winners included Jillian Bradford for Student Life and People, Miranda Brown for Theme Development, Haley Mulder for Academics, Collin Callahan for Sports Action Photo, Megan Reade for Clubs/Organizations Photo, Erin Barents for Index and Katie DeVore for Personality Profiles.

Jaclyn Ryan from Windermere Prep School in Windermere, Fla., won two Class B Sweepstakes awards for Clubs and Organizations and Advertising.

Additional Walsworth Sweepstakes winners included Taylor Keefer from Boone High School in Orlando, Fla., who won the Class A prize for Clubs and Organizations. Brady Klein from Shawnee Mission Northwest High School in Shawnee, Kan., won the Class A prize for Headline Writing and Design.

Each year, staff members of yearbooks are invited to participate in the Yearbook Excellence Contest and compete in 18 categories. Winners receive the Quill and Scroll National Gold Key award and, when seniors, become eligible to apply for one of the Edward J. Nell Memorial or George and Ophelia Gallup scholarships.

In addition to the Sweepstakes winners, 12 schools whose 2012 yearbooks were printed by Walsworth had National Gold Key winners in this year’s contest, including:

  • Arrowhead Christian Academy – Redlands, Calif.
  • Blue Valley Northwest High School – Overland Park, Kan.
  • Boone High School – Orlando, Fla.
  • El Dorado High School – El Paso, Texas
  • Glendale High School – Springfield, Mo.
  • Hagerty High School – Oviedo, Fla.
  • Lincoln High School – Cambridge City, Ind.
  • Manchester Junior-Senior High School – North Manchester, Ind.
  • Pulaski Academy – Little Rock, Ark.
  • Shawnee Mission East High School – Prairie Village, Kan.
  • Shawnee Mission Northwest High School – Shawnee, Kan.
  • Windermere Prep School – Windermere, Fla.

Two additional schools who are new Walsworth customers in 2013 also had National Gold Key winners – Miami Palmetto Senior High in Miami, Fla.; and Oak Ridge High School in Orlando, Fla.

You can view the full results of the contest, including the state-by-state list of National Gold Key award winners at the Quill and Scroll website.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.