February 24, 2012 / News & Notes

Students at Walsworth schools win 11 of 24 top honors in 2011 Yearbook Excellence Contest

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Feb. 24, 2012) – Yearbook students from Walsworth customer schools won 11 of the 24 first-place Sweepstakes prizes in the 2011 Yearbook Excellence Contest, sponsored by Quill & Scroll.

The yearbook staff at Arrowhead Christian Academy in Redlands, Calif., received the most awards, winning 10 Sweepstakes honors in the Class B category. The winners were Joanna Sowell for Theme Development, Advertising and Index; Bradlee Locke for People; Katie DeVore for Student Life; Miranda Brown for Academics; Christina Fournier for Clubs and Organizations; Julia Naman for Sports; Jake Naman for Sports Action Photo; and Cody Laliberte for Academic Photo.

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School in Shawnee, Kan., had one Sweepstakes winner in the Class A category – Caleb Amundson for Graphics.

Additional Walsworth schools honored with national awards in the contest were Andover Central High School in Andover, Kan.; Blue Valley Northwest High School in Overland Park, Kan.; Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kan.; and El Dorado High School in El Paso, Texas.

Each year, staff members of yearbooks that belong to the Quill & Scroll Society are invited to participate in the Yearbook Excellence Contest. Winners receive the Quill & Scroll’s National Gold Key award and, if seniors, become eligible to apply for one of the Edward J. Nell Memorial or George and Ophelia Gallup scholarships.

You can view the full results of the contest, including the state-by-state list of National Gold Key award winners at the Quill & Scroll website.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.