July 19, 2010 / News & Notes

Six principals named finalists for NASSP award

Written by Marketing Staff

(July 19, 2010) – The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) has named six principals as finalists for the 2011 National Principal of the Year award.

Three high school principals were selected as finalists for the NASSP’s High School honor, and three middle school principals were selected as finalists for the Middle Level honor. The finalists include:

High School Finalists

  • Ronald Montoya; Valley High School, Las Vegas, Nev.
  • Marjorie Stealey; Norview High School, Norfolk, Va.
  • Wes Taylor; Lowndes High School, Valdosta, Ga.

Middle Level Finalists

  • Jami Bronson; Mill Creek Middle School, Dexter, Mich.
  • Catherine Carnahan; Duniway Middle School, McMinnville, Ore.
  • Michael McCarthy; King Middle School, Portland, Maine

The award finalists will be interviewed on Aug. 6 in Arlington, Va., by a panel of judges who will determine the two National Principals of the Year.

The winners will be announced in September, and will then be honored at the State and National Principal’s Institute and Awards Banquet in Washington, D.C., Oct. 20-23.

The six finalists each receive a $1,500 grant. The two national award winners will receive an additional grant of $3,500. The grants are used to promote the advancement of learning opportunities for students or other related investments such as capital improvements, the purchase of technology-related equipment, or funding specific educational programs.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.