September 30, 2010 / News & Notes

Penton Kibler wins 2010 Dow Jones honor

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Sept. 30, 2010) – Valerie Penton Kibler, the newspaper and online media adviser at Harrisonburg High School in Harrisonburg, Va., has been named the 2010 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year by the Dow Jones News Fund.

Kibler has been an adviser for the past 18 years, and has been at Harrisonburg since 1998. In addition to advising the award-winning Newsstreak newspaper and website, Kibler teaches Advanced Placement English with an Intensive Journalistic Writing focus – a class she started in 2008.

Dow Jones recognized four special recognition and four distinguished advisers as part of this year’s awards.

The 2010 Distinguished Advisers are:

  • Coni Grebel, Lee County High School, Leesburg, Ga.
  • Susan Goins Newell, Northridge High School, Tuscaloosa, Ala.
  • Joe Humphrey, Hillsborough High School, Tampa, Fla.,
  • Lori Keekley, St. Louis Park High School, St. Louis Park, Minn.

The 2010 Special Recognition advisers are:

  • Elizabeth Cardenas, Felix Varela Senior High School, Miami
  • Matthew Schott, Francis Howell Central High School, St. Charles, Mo.
  • Bretton Zinger, Chantilly High School, Chantilly, Va.
  • Stan Zoller, Rolling Meadows High School, Rolling Meadows, Ill.

Kibler will accept her award at the Fall JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in Kansas City, Nov. 11-14, and will be able to attend a professional-level seminar at the Poynter Institute for Media Studies in St. Petersburg, Fla. Kibler will also be a paid columnist for the Dow Jones quarterly newsletter, Adviser Update.

The journalism program at Harrisonburg will receive a laptop computer, and a Harrisonburg student will receive a $1,000 college scholarship to pursue journalism studies. One student at each of the four Distinguished Advisers’ schools will receive $500 college scholarships.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.