August 21, 2015 / News

Oakwood’s Jackson wins Future Teacher scholarship from JEA

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Kelsey Jackson, the yearbook and newspaper adviser at Oakwood High School in Dayton, Ohio, was announced today as one of four graduate students selected as recipients of this year’s $1,000 Future Teacher Scholarships by the Journalism Education Association (JEA).

Jackson is entering her fifth year as the yearbook adviser at Oakwood, a Walsworth Yearbooks customer school. She is currently a year and a half into a master’s degree program for journalism educators at Kent State University.

“What I know now is that journalism not only teaches lessons, but it also requires students to get up, get out and do what they just learned in the real world. This is why I’ve found I love teaching journalism: I watch students use life skills and independent thinking,” Jackson wrote in her JEA essay.

Other Future Teacher Scholarship winners were:

  • Amy Beare – Mountain View High School, Mountain View, California
  • Katie Comeford – Phoenix Military Academy, Chicago, Illinois
  • Lindsey Ross – Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner, Kansas

Karen Flowers, JEA’s 2015 Linda S. Putney Teacher Inspiration Award winner, served as judge of the contest.

All four scholarship winners will be invited to attend the awards ceremony that will take place on Nov. 14 at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Orlando, Florida.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.