September 9, 2009 / News & Notes

NSPA names five Pioneer winners

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Sept. 9, 2009) – The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) announced that five people have been selected to receive the Pioneer Award, NSPA’s top honor for individuals, at the upcoming Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Washington D.C.

The 2009 Pioneer recipients are:

  • Mike Hiestand, legal consultant for the Student Press Law Center
  • Monica Hill, executive director of the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Mark Newton, adviser of the Aerie yearbook and Eagle Eye newspaper at Mountain Vista High School in Highlands Ranch, Colo.
  • Tracy Anne Sena, adviser of the Broadview newspaper at Convent of the Sacred Heart High School in San Francisco
  • Linda Shockley, the deputy director of the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund

The five winners will be honored during the Adviser Luncheon on Nov. 14 at the convention in Washington D.C.

NSPA maintains a composite plaque of Pioneers and displays it at the JEA/NSPA national conventions. Candidates are nominated and selected by previous Pioneer Award winners.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.