September 3, 2008 / News & Notes

JEA announces winners for annual awards

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Sept. 3, 2008) – Two yearbook advisers who are Walsworth customers and a Walsworth yearbook sales representative are among the people named to receive the Journalism Education Association’s highest annual awards, which will be given during the Fall National High School Journalism Convention, Nov. 13-16 in St. Louis.

The Carl Towley Award, Administrator of the Year, Medal of Merit, Friend of Scholastic Journalism and Lifetime Achievement Awards will be honored at a luncheon on Saturday, Nov. 15.

Two Walsworth advisers – Rebecca Tate of Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kan., and Dow Tate of Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kan. – are two of the four Medal of Merit recipients. Also being honored with this award are Janet Ewell of Ranchos Alamitos High School in Garden Grove, Calif., and Casey Nichols of Rocklin High School in Rocklin, Calif.

Missy Green, a Walsworth yearbook sales representative from Orlando, Fla., is one of eight people or organizations to be honored with the Friends of Scholastic Journalism award. The other honorees are:

  • James W. Ewert, California Newspaper Publishers Association, Sacramento, Calif.
  • The Long Island Press, Beverly Fortune, associate publisher, Syosset, N.Y.
  • Walter C. Mallard, “Skip Walters,” Cherry Creek Radio, Great Falls, Mont.
  • Randy Miller, University of South Florida, Tampa, Fla.
  • David G. Thompson, District of Columbia Public Schools, Career and Technical Education
  • Dave Upthegrove, House of Representatives, Olympia, Wash.
  • Rick Wood, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Milwaukee, Wis.

One of the JEA’s most prestigious awards each year is the Carl Towley Award, which is the highest honor the organization can give to one of its members. This year’s honor will go to Carol Lange of Reston, Va. Timothy R. Wernentin, the principal at Davenport Central High School in Davenport, Iowa, will be this year’s recipient of the JEA Administrator of the Year honor.

The Lifetime Achievement Award winners are:
Ron Bonadonna, Nutley, N.J.
Dave Cosgrove, Tucson, Ariz.
John Culbertson, Sun Prairie, Wis.
Susan V. Everett, Jersey City, N.J.
Bill Flechtner, Milwaukie, Ore.
Nancy Guiliani, Newport, Ore.
Betsy Pollard Rau, Bay City, Mich.
Martha Rothwell, Statesville, N.C.
Charlotte Titcomb, Gernee, Ill.
Randy Vonderheid, McKinney, Texas

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.