March 1, 2019 / News

Hayes, Lerner named Gold Key winners by CSPA

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) announced the recipients of several individual honors on Friday, which the organization will be presenting at its upcoming Spring Convention, March 20-22, in New York City.

CSPA named four 2019 winners of its Gold Key award, including Tom Hayes, yearbook adviser at Ben Davis High School in Indianapolis, Indiana; and Sarah Lerner, yearbook adviser at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida. Both Ben Davis and Marjory Stoneman Douglas are Walsworth Yearbooks schools.

Gold Keys are presented annually by the CSPA to those who have “demonstrated their support for excellence in teaching journalism and in student press advising.”

This year’s other Gold Key winners included:

  • Debra Klevens, Parkway West High School, Ballwin, Missouri
  • Alan Murray, Philadelphia-based journalist, entrepreneur, project manager, CEO and founder of Uncharted

CSPA also announced that Pete LeBlanc of Antelope High School in Antelope, California, has been named this year’s winner of the Joseph M. Murphy Award for outstanding service to CSPA.

Also honored at this year’s CSPA Adviser Awards will be Melissa Falkowski from Marjory Stoneman Douglas, who was previously named the 2019 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.