September 9, 2011 / News & Notes

Entries from Walsworth schools named Finalists in NSPA’s Design and Picture of the Year contests

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Sept. 9, 2011) – Entries from Walsworth yearbook schools were honored this week when the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) announced Finalists for its 2011 Design of the Year and Photo of the Year contests.

For Design of the Year, the Yearbook Page/Spread category, Roya Rakhshan from the Leaves staff of Sherwood High School in Sandy Spring, Md., was named a Finalist.

SM East photo

This photo by Danielle Norton from the Hauberk of Shawnee Mission East was named a Finalist in the NSPA Picture of the Year contest, Feature Picture category.

For Picture of the Year, the Feature Picture category, Danielle Norton of the Hauberk from Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kan., was named a Finalist. Katharina Backscheider of Hoofbeats from Burges High School in El Paso, Texas, was named Honorable Mention in Feature Pictures.

Danielle Ledgerwood from Maranatha Christian Schools in San Diego, Calif., was selected a Finalist in the Junior High/Middle School category for Picture of the Year. Andrea Zecy from Shawnee Mission East was chosen Honorable Mention in the Environmental Portrait category.

New in 2011, the NSPA will be honoring up to 10 entries in each of its individual award categories. Five Finalists were announced this week, and first through fifth place will then be announced at the Fall National High School Journalism Convention on Nov. 19 in Minneapolis.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.