September 5, 2012 / News & Notes

Entries from Walsworth schools honored as finalists in NSPA’s Design and Picture of the Year contests

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Sept. 5, 2012) – Entries from six Walsworth yearbook schools were honored this week when the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) announced finalists for its 2012 Design of the Year and Photo of the Year contests.

For Design of the Year, the Yearbook Page/Spread category, Catherine Peshesk and Rebecca Van Etten from The Stampede staff of J.W. Mitchell High School in New Port Richey, Fla., were named Finalists for their swimming spread. Malissa Nunes, Kayla Estes and Madison McAllaster from the Pride of Benicia High School in Benicia, Calif., were chosen Honorable Mention for a spread on soccer.

Wayzata image

This image by Carina Lofgren from Wayzata High School was named Honorable Mention in the News Picture category of NSPA's Picture of the Year contest.

For Picture of the Year, the Junior High/Middle School category, Justin Hancock of The Masterpiece from Bak Middle School of the Arts in West Palm Beach Fla.; and Sara Jarvis and Jordan Loeser of The Scrapbook from Westfield Middle School in Westfield, Ind., were named Finalists.

Carina Lofgren of the Wayako from Wayzata High School in Plymouth, Minn., was named Honorable Mention in News Pictures. Brandon Davis of the Benicia High Pride, and Amber Garrett of the South Paw staff from Park Hill South High School in Riverside, Mo., were selected Honorable Mention in Sports Action.

Five Finalists were announced this week in each individual award category, and first through fifth place will then be announced at the Fall National High School Journalism Convention in San Antonio, Nov. 15-18.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.