March 17, 2011 / News & Notes

Boone High adviser Renee Burke named a CSPA Gold Key winner

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (March 17, 2011) – Renee Burke, the yearbook adviser at Walsworth’s William R. Boone High School in Orlando, Fla., was one of six advisers selected for the Gold Key honor from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) at this week’s CSPA National Convention in New York City.

Each year, the CSPA uses the Gold Key to recognize educators and others for their support of excellence in teaching journalism and advising the student press.

Burke advises both the Legend yearbook and Hi-Lights newspaper at Boone, which have both been multiple CSPA Crown and NSPA Pacemaker award winners. In 2008, Burke was selected as a Distinguished Adviser by the Dow Jones News Fund and in 2000, she was chosen the Boone High School Teacher of the Year. In February of this year, Burke was named the Teacher of the Year in Orange County, Fla.

“Every day, I feel so blessed to be working with young adults and seeing them learn and produce quality publications. There are always new challenges to overcome, which makes it interesting and rewarding,” Burke said.

Winners of the Gold Key will be honored on Friday afternoon at the Awards Luncheon for Advisers. Here is the complete list of this year’s Gold Key winners:

  • Renee Burke, William Boone High School, Orlando, Fla.
  • Michele Dunaway, Francis Howell High School, St. Charles, Mo.
  • Valerie Kibler, Harrisonburg High School, Harrisonburg, Va.
  • Barbara Ann Milch, Riverside High School, Riverside, N.J.
  • Wayna Polk, Abilene High School, Abilene, Texas (retired)
  • Bretton Zinger, Chantilly High School, Chantilly, Va.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.